The Empire Strikes Back

12  APR
The Star Wars saga continues

Directed by  Irvin Kershner
Written by  George Lucas, Leigh Brackett, Lawrence Kasdan
Starring:  Harrison Ford (Han Solo)
Mark Hamill (Luke Skywalker)
Carrie Fisher (Princess Leia)
Peter Mayhew (Chewbacca)
David Prowse (Lord Darth Vader)
Anthony Daniels (C-3PO)
Kenny Baker (R2-D2)
Frank Oz (Yoda)
Billy Dee Williams (Lando Calrissian)
Runtime: 124 minutes
Darth Vader is helping the Empire crush the rebellion determined to end the Empire's domination of the universe. The rebels are based on Hoth, and when troops arrive to wipe them out, Han Solo and Princess Leia flee to Cloud City. Luke Skywalker, in a bid to strengthen his knowledge of the force, finds Yoda, one of the finest Jedis ever. Will they be able to get back together and halt the Empires progress? - Colin Tinto

Since I didn't completely enjoyed Star Wars it is rather obvious that also this movie won't get my full appreciation. However The Empire Strikes Back has a more interesting and intriguing story that is never slow or boring and there are also less evident flaws.

While in Star Wars I found really irritating the complete inability of both the good and the evil characters to use laser guns, in The Empire Strikes Back the same thing seems to be true for the Empire's pilots that are completely unable to follow and hit the Millenium Falcon, let alone the typical idiocy of the Empire's generals and commanders who did a lot of strategic and estimation errors.

Although the scenes of the Empire attacking the Rebel's base are very good, I always wondered why they used that unlikely war machines that resembled a quadruped which seemed very unstable, vulnerable, slow and, why not, unconfortable and complex to drive!

A positive note about the "Special Edition" is that the 'digital sound' is rather impressive as it is very directional (eg. in the scene of the Wampa's den), creates a good athmosphere (eg. the surrounding sound of the rain) and not just loud as it seemed to be in Star Wars.

Rating: 7.5  ****

Links:  Official Site




© Copyright Sergio Monesi, 1997-1999.
Last updated: 25 Jun 1999